Barwon Heads Football Club was established in 1922 and played in the Freshwater Creek District Football Association.

After the Second World War the club amalgamated with the Ocean Grove Football Club and joined the Geelong District Football Association. The Barwon Heads/Ocean Grove team won their first senior premiership in 1957.

The clubs separated in the early 1960’s and a fierce rivalry developed. The matches played between these two clubs are well known as ‘The Battle of the Bridge’ and a trophy named after Barwon Heads newsagent, George Talbert was created in 1965 from a bed pan and a shower head. This rivalry has continued to build over the years with huge crowds attending these matches.

Barwon Heads was a driving force in the formation of the Bellarine football League and became a founding member after initiating meetings in 1968 with Ocean Grove, Drysdale, Modewarre, Angelsea, Queenscliff, Portarlington, Leopold, Torquay and Winchelsea.

After many meetings with officials from the Victorian Country Football Leage, the VFL and the Hampden Football League, the matter was finally resolved and the first season was played in 1971.

Barwon Heads stamped an early authority taking out triple titles in 1972, 73 & 74.  In 1993 saw both Senior & Reserve’s winning premierships and it took until 2019 to break a 26 year drought and bring home a flag when the seniors defeated Torquay @ Torquay.  2020 & 2021 saw a pandemic wreak havoc on our football seasons but in 2022 we secured back to back flags by once again defeating Torquay by 55 points.

With the new clubrooms completed in 2006, it is arguably the most picturesque football ground in Victoria.